Skip to content

Trip planning

July 3, 2011

There’s no doubt what I’d do if I won the lottery. I love to travel. I have to admit, I don’t understand how people can go to the same place for vacation, year after year.

Since I haven’t won the lottery yet, the next best thing is planning for travel. I like being prepared, I like getting a good deal, and I like crafting an itinerary that makes a vacation our own rather than going to just the usual spots. I like being a little bit different, choosing different destinations.  Hence we went to Umbria instead of Tuscany, and honeymooned in the Pacific Northwest  instead of the Caribbean.

I’ve started researching two different vacations:

The more immediate trip is for this autumn, and will be within the U.S. We’ve talked about Chicago or Boston. Then I had the thought of combining the vacation with a quick visit to Vermont to see Charlie’s family. We could fly into Boston, rent a car for three days, drive to Vermont and then return to Boston for the vacation part of the trip. Then the Boston idea changed to Montreal, since we could drive to Vermont for a family visit, the continue a couple of hours to Montreal for vacation.

The long-range trip planning is a European trip for our 25th anniversary. Okay, so it’s not until 2013. But still, picking a destination is very important! Until recently, the front-runner was either Croatia or Belgium. Now it’s shaping up to be London and Scotland. London isn’t very unique as a vacation destination, but it just seems like a good fit for our history-geekiness and Charlie’s hesitancy to spend two weeks in a non-English-speaking country.

Neither destination is definite yet. One of my main memories of Montreal when I went there many years ago was a strong anti-English speaking sentiment. The extent of my French is “bon jour.” And London is outrageously expensive, particularly since I’m a teeny bit of a diva and need a certain level of comfort.

For now, it’s research, research, research. We still have some time to finalize the September or October trip, and way longer for the grand 25th celebration.

 

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

