Skip to content

Five things I love from Trader Joe’s

April 6, 2011

I’ll be the first to admit that my love is fickle. Not my overall love for TJ’s, but for specific items. Had I made this list last year, it likely would have contained their refrigerated pizza dough, Tuscan bread, and their version of Pirate’s Booty. During Christmas, I’d likely have a hard time choosing between my husband and their chocolate-covered shortbread star cookies with nonpareils. Next year, I’m sure there will be new items and perhaps some old favorites.

A caveat: as is obvious from the items listed below, our favorites will never be anything healthy! While we eat some healthy stuff because we have to, you’ll never catch Charlie or I saying, “My, I’m craving some edamame.” We’re just not wired that way. Nor are we into much ethnic food, unless you count Italian.

For now, though, here’s the list:

1. Frozen croissants – these things are sinfully good. Really, really, really good, both the plain, mini croissants and the chocolate croissants. Scuttlebutt is that TJ’s croissants are made by the same manufacturer that makes Williams-Sonoma’s frozen croissants, which cost a zillion times more. All you need to do is let them thaw and rise overnight, and you’ve got lovely, flaky, hot goodness in the morning. It’s a great way to impress your weekend guests.

2. Fully-baked frozen baguettes – in case you couldn’t tell, I love bread. These are new, and good. They’re mini baguettes, and come six in a package. You just thaw and stick in the toaster oven for a few minutes to crisp them up. The directions say that you don’t even need to heat them at all, but I’ll always choose warm bread over room temp. The best thing is that you can pull just one or two from the package.

3. Cheddar cheese crackers – these are very similar to John Wm. Macy’s cheddar and asiago crackers, but cost way less. Be forewarned: it’s far too easy to just keep eating these until the package is empty. That’s what I’ve heard, anyway. Not that it’s ever happened in my house, no.

4. Trader Giuseppe’s spaghetti sauce with Italian sausage – it’s good even when I don’t do any doctoring to it.

5. The final thing isn’t a singular thing, but rather TJ staples that are good quality at great prices: olive oil, cut flowers, most any kind of nut, and cheese of any variety.

Charlie’s list of favorites would be vastly different, and include frozen mini-tacos. What can I say, we’re simple people and we like simple things.

From → Rambling stories

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

