Skip to content

Hotel considerations

July 27, 2010

I booked our pre-cruise hotel in Seattle today. Like everything else, it required a bit of planning. I would have preferred to get a room through Priceline, since I love a bargain like nobody’s business. However, I couldn’t be guaranteed a handicapped accessible room through a third-party like Priceline or Hotwire. Even for one night, this is pretty much a necessity: without an elevated toilet seat and grab bars, I’d need to help Mom each time she used the bathroom. Been there, done that, got the t-shirt vowing never to do it again – the woman is up in the middle of the night, and I need my sleep!

I really debated about rolling the dice and taking my chances with Priceline, but it wasn’t worth starting the trip off on a bad note. The next decision was location. We’re arriving around 4:30 p.m. and will be boarding the ship around 11 a.m. the following day. Mom will be using a wheelchair in the airports, and once we arrive at the pier, but she won’t have one in between, so there’s no ability to sight-see on our own during this time.

With that in mind, I decided on the airport area. It’s cheaper than downtown, and most hotels there have free airport shuttles.

Then the search starts. While I’m thrifty, I’m also somewhat particular about hotels, and generally need at least a three-star property. A couple of possibilities were out of the running immediately, since they were sprawling properties, and I didn’t want Mom to have to walk half a mile to breakfast or the main door. Several more lost out because the only accessible rooms available had one queen bed. I’ll share a king with my mom, but not a queen, nuh-uh. One hotel, which otherwise had everything going for it, didn’t specify accessible rooms when booking. I wasn’t going to give my credit card number without being sure of the room.

In the end, I decided on  . . . drumroll please . . . the Springhill Suites by Marriott. Nice rooms, breakfast included, free shuttle, supposedly not only from the airport but to shops and restaurants within five miles.

One more thing off my checklist. Now I can rest assured that we won’t be sleeping in the airport the night before we board.

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

